Destructive Edits

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Altmaken

Destructive Edits

Post by Altmaken »

I'm fairly new to FreeCAD so bear with me...
As I understand it, the latest version -- 0.2 -- allows you to create threaded holes in a part. However, if you sketch a series of circles and then apply the hole command all the circles in that sketch will be the same size of hole regardless of the size of the circle originally sketched.

Therefore, to get multiple sizes of threaded holes in a single object you need to create a new sketch for each desired size.

I created a sketch for my 3/8" threads, another for my 1/4" threads, another for the 3mm, another for the 4mm, and another for the non-threaded slots. Later I wanted to remove three of the 16 1/4" threaded holes. When I deleted them and their constraints I found some of the holes & slots in subsequent sketches were deleted or moved. I can't figure out why.

I'm guessing that because I'm creating multiple sketches on a single part surface they are interfering with each other... perhaps because of using the same external geometry anchor point??

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
frcaduser

Re: Destructive Edits

Post by frcaduser »

Hello,

can you please include the information found by going to Help > About on the top menu.

Also, can you please fill us in on the workbench that you're using for your project (i.e., to understand your
design approach). By the way, a very good workbench for repeating objects is the Lattice2 workbench.
The other is the Draft workbench as they both create arrays of objects.

Design once, create an array of the object to make multiple copies of it - since as you stated you use the same
object multiple times in the part that you're designing.