same macro, same version of freecad, but very different meshes between linux and windows.

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

theodoresyroco

same macro, same version of freecad, but very different meshes between linux and windows.

Post by theodoresyroco »

hello everyone !

windows freecad :

Code: Select all

Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.2.29177 +426 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached from 0.20.2)
Hash: 930dd9a76203a3260b1e6256c70c1c3cad8c5cb8
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
Installed mods: 
  * Curves 0.6.8
linux freecad :

Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.2.29603 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.20.2)
Hash: 930dd9a76203a3260b1e6256c70c1c3cad8c5cb8
Python 3.10.8, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
I am a student in internship and I have the following problem:

I was using freecad on windows and I developed a macro allowing me to generate a foil geometry, apply constraints to it and mesh it into the FEM workbench with Netgen (finesse = coarse, opimize = true, secondorder = true, maxsize = 1000). After some work, everything worked perfectly and my CalculiX files were correct. For information, my mesh still had about 15 000 nodes (which is very good for me)

Except that the rest of my work is done on a Ubuntu 20.04.5 LTS virtual machine. So I wanted to transfer my work from freecad windows to freecad linux. I was able to install freecad 0.20.2 and use the same macro (Netgen config : finesse = coarse, opimize = true, secondorder = true, maxsize = 1000) as on windows. And here is the problem: there are no errors but the mesh has now 400 000 nodes, which is much too fine for me.

I don't understand why I can't get the same mesh result as on windows ! I have not found any evidence of this problem on the forum.