Getting started in FEM, pressurized vessel

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

BDL42

Getting started in FEM, pressurized vessel

Post by BDL42 »

Have created a toy example, which I would like to analyze using FEM. This example is similar to a real object which I saw online, and it is known to have issues. I've never done FEM before. I did read the tutorial on the workbench, and watched a video, but that is the extent of my knowledge. I'm familiar with the basic concepts, but am struggling with actually implementing the forces. I'd like to analyze the stresses due to the sharp corner at the end of the tube. This cylinder is pressurized to 30 MPa. 6061 is totally inadequate for this use, and perhaps 7075 as well, especially with the sharp corner. I have been unable to find the material card equivalent to 7075-T651, but it's possible create a custom material with judicious editing.

I added a fixed constraint at the end of the tube. That was easy, although not intuitive. I had to click on the face twice. Not sure why that is. My next step was to add a pressure constraint, rather than force. Only the bottom of the cylinder and the 3mm walls see the 30 MPa. I was able to add just the bottom face of the pressure constraint. If I added the sidewalls, it appears that the direction of force is backwards. The pressure is always outwards. I solved this problem by having only one face under pressure and making a second pressure constraint.

Double clicking on MaterialSolid lead to a traceback:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/bruce/Apps/freecad-build/Mod/Fem/femviewprovider/view_material_common.py", line 58, in setEdit
    view_base_femconstraint.VPBaseFemConstraint.setEdit(
  File "/home/bruce/Apps/freecad-build/Mod/Fem/femviewprovider/view_base_femobject.py", line 93, in setEdit
    task = TaskPanel(vobj.Object)