Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

hooshsim
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by hooshsim »

Hi, all

I am trying to simulate a rotating fan installed in a box. The model file is setup correctly and a mesh is generated without any error. I have also updated the "U" file in the "0" directory to include the fan speed as outlined below. Once I submit the model for the solution, I get an error as shown in the attached sfile.

Can someone please take a look at my model and tell me what the issue could be here. My model is very similar to this tutorial on Youtube. https://youtu.be/Q10MbSFEiEM

Thanks

Code: Select all

/*--------------------------------*- C++ -*----------------------------------*\
|                                                                             |
|                Generated by the CfdOF workbench for FreeCAD                 |
|                  https://gitlab.com/opensimproject/CfdOF                    |
|                                                                             |
\*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
FoamFile
{
    version     2.0;
    format      ascii;
    class       volVectorField;
    object      U;
}
// * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * //

dimensions      [0 1 -1 0 0 0 0];

internalField   uniform (0.0 0.0 0.0);

boundaryField
{

    inlet
    {
        type            flowRateInletVelocity;
        massFlowRate    1.0;
        rho             rho;
        rhoInlet        1.2;
        value           $internalField;
    }

    outlet
    {
        type        pressureInletOutletVelocity;
        value       $internalField;
    }

    wall
    {
        // movingWallVelocity reduces to fixedValue if the mesh is not moving
        type        movingWallVelocity;
        value       uniform (0 0 0);
    }

    fan
    {
        // Specified velocity, only component tangential to wall is used
	type	rotatingwallvelocity;		
	origin	(0. 0. 0.);
     	axis  	(0. 0. -1.);
     	omega	constant 430;
    }

    defaultFaces
    {
        type        slip;
        value       $internalField;
    }

}

// ************************************************************************* //
Attachments
Error.PNG
Error.PNG (18.6 KiB) Viewed 1067 times
Last edited by hooshsim on Fri Mar 17, 2023 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3082
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by NewJoker »

This question should be placed in the FEM —> CfdOF subforum.

Which lines are the ones to which the error refers ?
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54201
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by chrisb »

hooshsim wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 12:12 am /*--------------------------------*- C++ -*----------------------------------*\
| |
| Generated by the CfdOF workbench for FreeCAD |
| https://gitlab.com/opensimproject/CfdOF |
| |
\*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
Please edit your post and put the code in code tags using the button </>. That makes the post easier to read and shows immediately the indentations.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
hooshsim
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by hooshsim »

NewJoker wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 8:03 am This question should be placed in the FEM —> CfdOF subforum.

Which lines are the ones to which the error refers ?
Error refers to the lines below patch name "Fan"
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3082
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by NewJoker »

hooshsim wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 11:17 am Error refers to the lines below patch name "Fan"
Try changing it to this:

Code: Select all

type	rotatingwallvelocity;		
	origin	(0. 0. 0.);
     	axis  	(0. 0. -1.);
     	omega	430;
hooshsim
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by hooshsim »

NewJoker wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 11:28 am
hooshsim wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 11:17 am Error refers to the lines below patch name "Fan"
Try changing it to this:

Code: Select all

type	rotatingwallvelocity;		
	origin	(0. 0. 0.);
     	axis  	(0. 0. -1.);
     	omega	430;
I tried that first...same error but, at different line under the same patch name.
Trying to attach the file but it's too big. How do I reduce the file size for posting? Appreciate your help.
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3082
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by NewJoker »

hooshsim wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 11:45 am Trying to attach the file but it's too big. How do I reduce the file size for posting? Appreciate your help.
You could use some hosting website like WeTransfer, Drobpox or Google Drive and paste the link here.
hooshsim
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by hooshsim »

Here is the link to the model file.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1351og6 ... sp=sharing
hooshsim
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by hooshsim »

NewJoker wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 12:01 pm
hooshsim wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 11:45 am Trying to attach the file but it's too big. How do I reduce the file size for posting? Appreciate your help.
You could use some hosting website like WeTransfer, Drobpox or Google Drive and paste the link here.
NewJ,

Does the link work out for you? First timer on Google Drive

Thanks
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3082
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: Rotating Wall Velocity Error of a Fan

Post by NewJoker »

hooshsim wrote: Fri Mar 17, 2023 12:26 pm Does the link work out for you? First timer on Google Drive
You would also have to set access to "Anyone with the link".
Post Reply