Macro to draw folding lines on a loft

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
nm2107

Macro to draw folding lines on a loft

Post by nm2107 »

Hello,

First, thank you for FreeCAD and all the related projects out there :)
I'm currently trying to develop a tool to be able to unfold a loft, and to
see the folding lines, in order to print the flatten shape on a piece of paper,
cardboard, plastic or a sheet of metal, and be able to fold it back to the
3D shape.

Here are some images :
Screenshot from 2023-03-04 23-47-53.png
Screenshot from 2023-03-04 23-47-53.png (27.36 KiB) Viewed 1688 times
Screenshot from 2023-03-04 23-48-28.png
Screenshot from 2023-03-04 23-48-28.png (36.42 KiB) Viewed 1688 times
Screenshot from 2023-03-04 23-48-59.png
Screenshot from 2023-03-04 23-48-59.png (29.29 KiB) Viewed 1688 times

And a GIF about it : https://twitter.com/nm2107/status/1632365109342289920

This is my first attempt with the FreeCAD API, so the code may not be very state
of the art.

See this gist for the code : https://gist.github.com/nm2107/9598a87b ... a810f80054

How it works ?
First, select the top and bottom faces of the loft (i.e. the faces corresponding
to the loft sketches), and then invoke this macro.
The tool will fire some rays from the center of each faces to its outer edges,
at regular angles. For each rays, I look at the intersection point between
the ray and the outer edge. The point marks a fold end (the other end is on the
other selected face). When the point is on a straight line, I move it to
the closest line end as I don't want to place bends on a straight line
(i.e. it should remain straight).
Then, when a complete revolution is done, all the folding lines are computed
(they are on the 3D shape). The next step is to draw a flat representation of
such lines. This is done by looking at the folding lines length, and the