Retail Architecture in FC the brute force way

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
JWorks

Retail Architecture in FC the brute force way

Post by JWorks »

Hello again fellows,

After the successful lubricant bottle designs (can be seen here) that have finally gone into production, I wanted to do an entire gas station in FC.
Lucky me, an oil company walked in with just such a requirement. Design and engineer a new fueling canopy, supporting buildings and gas station forecourt facilities. Simulate day and night views from customer point of view. Generate production drawings. Get it all prototyped.

With my 'safe options' safely tucked away, I went for modeling in FC and then porting the result to C4D for PBR renders using DAE exports.
I am STILL new to FC as there simply hasn't been enough time to learn all the fancy stuff like linking to external files, the Arch and BIM workbenches, Assemblies and Python automation that I KNOW will improve my work. I'll eventually get there.

We ended up hitting it out of the park with tons of steel and CO2 savings using 4 workbenches and the FCinfo plugin.
These were the Sketcher, Part, Part Design and Tech Draw. I even mixed up Part with PD at times. The models and drawings are hyper-precise in the sub-millimeter scale for a facility spanning 27,000 sqft. Also ran FEAs on complex steel structures internally with good results.

FILE HANDLING IS WONDERFUL!
No display lag issues, no process delays, opens in a bit over a minute, saves in 30 seconds.
Some compute times are long enough to grab a coffee but only if I edit very deep which there is mostly no need of anyway.

I'll be sharing a mixed bag of FC outputs and final outputs in C4D followed in a couple of months by pictures of the real thing.

20 Fero.png
20 Fero.png (114.83 KiB) Viewed 2359 times
Mural Wall using hexagonal ACP and glass tiles in FC

06.jpg
06.jpg (591.78 KiB) Viewed 2359 times