CfdOF and OpenFoam server ?

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

Cobras62

CfdOF and OpenFoam server ?

Post by Cobras62 »

Hello,

Before asking my question, I would like to say that cfdof is great! A big congratulations to the people who developed this workbench. Without it, I think I would never have used OpenFoam! Thank you!

Then, sorry for my bad English, I'm French^^

I'm a beginner on openfoam and in cfd in general. I will, for my work, have to make simulations to design a piece of equipment.

We have a "supercomputer" at my workplace with the possibility of installing openfoam as a server.

So here is my question: is it possible to use freecad and cfdof to set up and generate the files, and then transfer these files to the "supercomputer" to run the simulation on the server?

It would save a lot of time, especially since I will have to run several simulations...

I have searched a bit but I have not found an answer to this question.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Have a nice day.

Pierre
oliveroxtoby

Re: CfdOF and OpenFoam server ?

Post by oliveroxtoby »

Cobras62 wrote: Mon Feb 06, 2023 9:37 am So here is my question: is it possible to use freecad and cfdof to set up and generate the files, and then transfer these files to the "supercomputer" to run the simulation on the server?
Yes, this is the idea. You can transfer the mesh case and case directories that are written and run them on a computer which doesn't have FreeCAD by by executing the Allmesh and Allrun scripts contained therein.

@techGuy is also working on automating this through an ssh connection - viewtopic.php?t=74877
Cobras62

Post by Cobras62 »

Hi @oliveroxtoby ,

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Thank you very much for your feedback! I will follow this very closely :D

The work done to modify CfdOF to do remote calculations is impressive!