[Solved] Holes, holes, holes...

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
BigChipmunk

[Solved] Holes, holes, holes...

Post by BigChipmunk »

Hi Team, I am a newbie to FreeCAD and this forum. I have read the rules so if I am doing something wrong please let me know.

I followed this tutorial: https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Creating_a_ ... th_Part_WB. After I cut the hole in the part, the hole still appears to be "full". It's like it made the cut, but didn't remove the inside of the hole. Pictures of the tutorial image and my image are in the attached document. I also attached the freecad file.

I just updated freecad and I'm on

Code: Select all

Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.2.29603 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.20.2)
Hash: 930dd9a76203a3260b1e6256c70c1c3cad8c5cb8
Python 3.10.8, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Now on to what I am really trying to accomplish. I have an SVG of a part. I need to extrude the part (at an angle) such that it has angled holes through it. The part is a ventilation louver for a boat.

On my first attempt, I thought I had it pretty good, but when I went to cut the part on a router, I realized that the main body of the part had no front or back to it - it was just the edge that was extruded.

On the next attempt, I made sure that the main body was a solid with a front, back, and edge, and I seem to have that now. What I cannot figure out is how to make the holes "empty". In fact, I don't even know how to tell whether or not they are empty. If I look at the wireframe I can see all the correct internal structure, but I don't know if there is anything in the holes, or not.