Expression Completer - Changes, Fixes

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
acpopescu

Expression Completer - Changes, Fixes

Post by acpopescu »

Hi everyone, I'm new in this forum and in the developer's community for FreeCAD!

I'm a software engineer, C++, currently working in computer games for a loooong time. I've been trying to get into designing some parts for my hobby with FreeCAD again (3D Printing).

I noticed that the Expression Completer has some issues with the Formula (it wouldn't complete Constraints.Height, or have bugs with Completion), so I started to look into fixing that for myself (LOTS of dependent parts, sketches and tolerances that need references)

I did manage to get something that works OK, BUT it's not done yet (https://github.com/acpopescu/FreeCAD/tr ... ompletions). I also didn't want to rock the boat too much by changing everything there for now (looking at the splitPath function in the Expression completer)

Putting this out here so we can talk about it :)

Video with current state:
phpBB [video]
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Expression Completer - Changes, Fixes

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Good to see somebody working on this again. Are you aware of issue #3062.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
acpopescu

Post by acpopescu »

Hey, didn't know about that! - it has more features, and includes python completion too! Plus a bunch of other changes (parser changes, python completion as a baseline, unit changes).

It looks like it would fix more items and UI issues than what I did and possibly handle a bunch of edge cases I definitely don't know about.