PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3022
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by NewJoker »

Hi,

I'd like to suggest a small change. I think that it would be better to set the "Make thickness inwards" option of PartDesign Thickness to be checked by default. That's because such hollowing operations in CAD software are usually performed inwards and it's easy to make a mistake and apply this operation in the opposite direction.

What do you think about this ? Are there any reasons to keep this option unchecked by default ?
User avatar
FBXL5
Posts: 981
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 8:45 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by FBXL5 »

NewJoker wrote: Mon Sep 12, 2022 10:27 pm set the "Make thickness inwards" option of PartDesign Thickness to be checked by default
+1

For injection-moulded parts you usually design the mould side (outer surface) of a part and use inward thickness to get the die side.
I would start parts to be 3D-printed from the outside as well.
And for deep-drawn sheet metal parts in contrast you usually design the die side and add outward thickness.

I bet the majority of parts represent moulded or 3d-printed parts, that's why I second this change.
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by adrianinsaval »

+1
bleber
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:12 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by bleber »

+1
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3022
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by NewJoker »

To implement this, would it be sufficient to replace this piece of code in src/Mod/PartDesign/Gui/TaskThicknessParameters.ui:

Code: Select all

    <widget class="QCheckBox" name="checkReverse">
       <property name="text">
        <string>Make thickness inwards</string>
       </property>
    </widget>
with:

Code: Select all

    <widget class="QCheckBox" name="checkReverse">
       <property name="enabled">
         <bool>true</bool>
       </property>
       <property name="text">
        <string>Make thickness inwards</string>
       </property>
    </widget>
or is it more complicated ?
User avatar
paddle
Veteran
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by paddle »

+1
I seem to recall that thickness is set to outward because OCC is handling better outward than inward which fails more often.
But yes inward should be default.
User avatar
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 3022
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by NewJoker »

@paddle Do you know if that code change above is sufficient to change this default setting ?
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by openBrain »

NewJoker wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 8:54 am To implement this, would it be sufficient to replace this piece of code in src/Mod/PartDesign/Gui/TaskThicknessParameters.ui:

Code: Select all

    <widget class="QCheckBox" name="checkReverse">
       <property name="text">
        <string>Make thickness inwards</string>
       </property>
    </widget>
with:

Code: Select all

    <widget class="QCheckBox" name="checkReverse">
       <property name="enabled">
         <bool>true</bool>
       </property>
       <property name="text">
        <string>Make thickness inwards</string>
       </property>
    </widget>
or is it more complicated ?
This is not enough IMO.
If I'm correct, also set it to true here : https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... ss.cpp#L48

EDIT : Most probably even this last change is needed. ;)
User avatar
paddle
Veteran
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by paddle »

NewJoker wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 10:21 am @paddle Do you know if that code change above is sufficient to change this default setting ?
I think that code will only change the UI element default state but it won't set the actual command boolean for that.
So I think you need both the change you mentioned and the change OpenBrain mentioned together.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: PartDesign Thickness - inwards by default

Post by openBrain »

openBrain wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 10:22 am EDIT : Most probably even this last change is needed. ;)
Can confirm change in the UI is probably useless as default value is overwritten when widget is created with actual object property value : https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... pp#L69-L70
Post Reply