Pocket operation distorts solid made from b-spline profiles

Report observations made with the new Toponaming branch.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
MediumCrab

Pocket operation distorts solid made from b-spline profiles

Post by MediumCrab »

I'm relatively new to Freecad but have fairly good Solidworks experience. Enjoying the learning process and really grateful to the folks contributing to this software and all the support on the forums.

I'm currently trying to model a simple wing-like structure. It is a loft between two airfoil profiles, mirrored about the center and then a cut-out made with a pocket. I have also tried a simple Pad of a single airfoil profile with the same results as below.

The problem I am running into is that after I make the pocket, my nice smooth airfoil body turns crinkly. See the before/after screenshots: in the 'after', the leading edge has an irregular appearance. This is reflected in exported STLs from before/after; the 'after' STLs are very complicated and irregular on a micro scale, disrupting the slicing and resulting in a poor 3D printed part vs the 'before'.

I feel like the somehow boils down to the fact the loft profiles include b-splines. If I replace my profiles with simple polygons, I don't get this issue. But I want to use the b-spline profiles.

In the attached freecad file, make the 'Pocket' operation visible to see the effect.

Before:
before_pocket.png
before_pocket.png (78.54 KiB) Viewed 3362 times
After:
after_pocket.png
after_pocket.png (59.14 KiB) Viewed 3362 times
showing Stl in cura:
cura_stl.png
cura_stl.png (85.04 KiB) Viewed 3362 times
I've been using Freecad Link Branch as well as regular Freecad with the same results in both:
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2022.430.26244 +4758 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: LinkDaily
Hash: b024b876480a533018fdc702145e9e38f8c54ba6
Python version: 3.9.12
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.3