[Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Build-0-Matic
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 9:31 pm

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by Build-0-Matic »

You're very welcome :D
User avatar
bwatt
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by bwatt »

Code: Select all

I found there is an opengl32sw. dll file under the bin folder. I serched the net and think it is from qt project. But the name is a bit weird. So I trid to rename it to normal opengl32. dll, and Freedcad starts and works.
I had the same problem with Windows 11 virtual machine running on a Windows 10 Hyper-V host with integrated graphic hardware (no discrete GPU). The problem shows up as: the splash screen displays, various messages flickered on the bottom of it, and then nothing, because FreeCAD failed with:

Code: Select all

From the Windows Application Log:  Event ID 1000  Application Error
Faulting application name: FreeCAD.exe, version: 0.19.0.16100, time stamp: 0x608218f4
Faulting module name: Qt5WebEngineCore.dll, version: 5.15.2.0, time stamp: 0x5fad38ab
Exception code: 0x80000003
Fault offset: 0x000000000014baff
Faulting process id: 0x1cbc
Faulting application start time: 0x01d7e98a52b95c81
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\FreeCAD.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Qt5WebEngineCore.dll
Report Id: 27cbccb1-bdf9-47b3-8870-3b47e9ffa4de
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
From:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=55898
Re: Conda Crash (v0.19_pre on Windows)
Post by GeneFC » Thu Mar 04, 2021 7:36 pm
Exception code: 0x80000003 typically means a driver conflict problem. Hard to say what the best solution might be, but that would explain the difference between computers.
Based upon other people's write ups after a web search of "freecad qt5webenginecore":
  1. I attempted to set QT_OPENCL environment variable to "desktop", "angle" and "software" in a command window then I ran FreeCAD in the same window, but all values failed.
  2. Next I attempted to rename FreeCAD's bin/Qt5WebEngineCore.dll to Qt5WebEngineCore.dll2. Then I ran FreeCAD and after the splash screen I was able to bring up FreeCAD. So next I set the FreeCAD Preferences > Display > 3D View to check "Use software OPENGL" option. Then I renamed Qt5WebEngineCore.dll2 back to Qt5WebEngineCore.dll, and started FreeCAD. However this approach also failed.
  3. Finally I renamed FreeCAD's bin/opengl32sw.dll to opengl32.dll (that is, I removed the 'sw' suffix in the name). This WORKED! FreeCAD splash screen displayed, then the main FreeCAD window appears. All looks to be now operational.
IemandAnders
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2022 8:22 am

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by IemandAnders »

bwatt wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 8:31 pm

Code: Select all

I found there is an opengl32sw. dll file under the bin folder. I serched the net and think it is from qt project. But the name is a bit weird. So I trid to rename it to normal opengl32. dll, and Freedcad starts and works.
[*]Finally I renamed FreeCAD's bin/opengl32sw.dll to opengl32.dll (that is, I removed the 'sw' suffix in the name). This WORKED! FreeCAD splash screen displayed, then the main FreeCAD window appears. All looks to be now operational.
[/list]
Same problems here, windows 10 machine. Black screen on the download.
Renaming opengl32sw to opengl32 did the trick.

Code: Select all

[code]
OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.0.32198 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f51b2156f35399cab38eef1e957a59ad5a11de66
Python 3.8.16, Qt 5.15.6, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
Installed mods: 
  * Assembly4 0.12.5
[/code]
User avatar
rmn_hr
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2022 7:54 pm

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by rmn_hr »

IemandAnders wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 10:50 am Finally I renamed FreeCAD's bin/opengl32sw.dll to opengl32.dll (that is, I removed the 'sw' suffix in the name). This WORKED! FreeCAD splash screen displayed, then the main FreeCAD window appears. All looks to be now operational.
This tricky solution brings FreeCAD Version 0.21.0.32457 back to normal too !!!
My latest version working without this modification was FC 0.21.0.31917

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.0.32457 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 85216bd12730bbc4c3cbf8f0bc50416ab1556cbb
Python 3.10.9, Qt 5.15.8, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: Austria (AT)
Installed mods: 
  * AddonManager
  * Assembly4 0.12.5
  * Draft
  * Fem
  * Idf
  * Import
  * Mesh
  * MeshPart
  * Part
  * PartDesign
  * Show
  * Sketcher
  * Spreadsheet
  * Start
  * TechDraw
  * Tux
  * Web
Last edited by rmn_hr on Thu Jun 29, 2023 7:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
My workflow: create single components in PartDesign and arrange them with Zolko's Assembly4
(https://github.com/Zolko-123/FreeCAD_Assembly4 )

FreeCAD works pretty well and stable for me !! :)
Hymn of Praise valid again since FreeCAD 0.22.35449
User avatar
rmn_hr
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2022 7:54 pm

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by rmn_hr »

renaming FreeCAD's bin/opengl32sw.dll to opengl32.dll still necessary for FreeCAD 0.21.0.33458 (Git)

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 build 19045
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.0.33458 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 8b89dd29d2382c72d738c52e8974216130ffa9db
Python 3.10.12, Qt 5.15.8, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: Austria (AT)
My workflow: create single components in PartDesign and arrange them with Zolko's Assembly4
(https://github.com/Zolko-123/FreeCAD_Assembly4 )

FreeCAD works pretty well and stable for me !! :)
Hymn of Praise valid again since FreeCAD 0.22.35449
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 11801
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE 🇩🇪
Contact:

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by thomas-neemann »

I still have the problem in the current 0.21.0 stable. but this workaround is wonderful. took a long time to find it here. Thanks very much
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1285
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by HarryvL »

same problem with the latest source-forge version:

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 build 19045
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.1.33694 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.21.1)
Hash: f6708547a9bb3f71a4aaade12109f511a72c207c
Python 3.11.5, Qt 5.15.8, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.2.5, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/Netherlands (en_NL)
jodark5
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 8:14 pm

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by jodark5 »

Read this for the real fix!!
I too run Windows10 with an intel processor on a laptop that has both onboard intel HD graphics and an NVIDIA graphics card. The issue is that the intel onboard graphics is a minimal graphics processor used by the system to extend battery life but the NVIDIA graphics card is required to run the newest improved versions of FreeCAD as it has the proper QOpenGLTexture filters. FreeCAD runs in a Python environment and so the NVIDIA card installed in the Windows environment does not see or look for FreeCAD in the Python environment.
The FIX:
1. open the newest version of freeCAD you desire to run and when loaded close it.
2. open your NVIDIA control panel.
3. select 'Mange 3D settings' in the Select Task bar.
4. select the 'Program Settings' tab on the 'Mange 3D Settings' page.
5. click the 'Add' button.
6. choose 'Recently used' in the pull down.
7. select 'FreeCAD main executable' in the list, or browse to the FreeCAD exe.
8. click 'Add Selected Program' button.
9. click 'Apply' button. close NVIDIA control panel. run FreeCAD.

I originally used the fix where renaming the opengl32sw.dll to opengl32.dll and it does work but many warning are then posted in the report view so it's not really fixed.
Each time an updated version of FreeCAD is install it will be required to add NVIDIA as the graphics processor to use.
GeneFC
Veteran
Posts: 5373
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by GeneFC »

jodark5 wrote: Thu Nov 30, 2023 3:07 am NVIDIA graphics card is required to run the newest improved versions of FreeCAD as it has the proper QOpenGLTexture filters.
A graphics card is not required to use any version of FreeCAD.

It may well be important for advanced display options such as texture, but FreeCAD will run just fine with built-in onboard graphics.

Gene
User avatar
jpg87
Posts: 809
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:16 am
Location: Limoges - France
Contact:

Re: [Solved]Black screen by starting first document

Post by jpg87 »

Thanks to @jodark5 who helped me resolve my problem.
My website : http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr updated 2023/11/06
Post Reply