LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
WarrenkCash
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:10 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by WarrenkCash »

I have as suggested by @mlampert added the parentjob to each of the libLathe turning Op's.It is the last function in each file. I commented out the original function and added the changed code below. The files are attached so others can test.
These files should work as intended with the origional PathOPGiu.py. Reading the code there is still a few things to implement but the operations are very usable for creating paths. Most of the code is way over my head though.
Attachments
PathTurnPartoff.py
(3.84 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
PathTurnFace.py
(4.22 KiB) Downloaded 92 times
PathTurnRough.py
(3.93 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
PathTurnProfile.py
(3.96 KiB) Downloaded 103 times
runryder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2022 1:22 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by runryder »

I am having issue with liblathe outputting the Y coordinate in the gcode file. Thanks the help

I attached a test file

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 1809
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29177 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20
Hash: 68e337670e227889217652ddac593c93b5e8dc94
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.2
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * A2plus 0.4.56a
  * Assembly4 0.12.0
  * Curves 0.4.4
  * fasteners 0.3.45
  * FeedsAndSpeeds 0.4.0
  * FreeCAD_Turning_Addon-master 0.1.0
  * Manipulator 1.4.9
  * sheetmetal 0.2.49
  * ThreadProfile 1.81.0
Attachments
teat1 roughing.txt
(5.44 KiB) Downloaded 70 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53930
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by chrisb »

runryder wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:00 am I attached a test file
Hard to say anything without the FreeCAD file - except that you should retry with 0.21.

Your post would be easier to read if you enlose the Gcode output directly in code tags. With a file it's saving - opening an editor - loading the file - removing the file, instead of just looking at it.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
WarrenkCash
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:10 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by WarrenkCash »

Your post processor needs to not output the Y param. If you are using the post in the liblathe as a start point. The LATHE_MODE flag in your post is probably set to False. Set it to True

Code: Select all

LATHE_MODE = True
You can set the Post Processor Args in the job to --lathe-mode.
Gian72
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2022 1:38 pm

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by Gian72 »

Hello guys,
was very excited in trying this addon on Freecad 0.19... but no luck!
It seems to be installed (see attached pics) but NO one link, icon, instruction was added to Path menus...

Could someone help me, please?

Gian
Attachments
Immagine 2022-12-22 144129.jpg
Immagine 2022-12-22 144129.jpg (70.35 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
Immagine 2022-12-22 144621.jpg
Immagine 2022-12-22 144621.jpg (173.33 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
Immagine 2022-12-22 144013.jpg
Immagine 2022-12-22 144013.jpg (74.98 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by Kunda1 »

Gian72 wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 1:57 pm was very excited in trying this addon on Freecad 0.19... but no luck!
Update to v0.20.2 and test ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Gian72
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2022 1:38 pm

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by Gian72 »

:lol: :lol: well... not exactly the answer I was hoping for, but thanks for the quick reply: I'll try 0.20 as suggested!

Regards,
Gian
User avatar
PaPaSteve
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2023 12:25 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by PaPaSteve »

Greetings FreeCAD forum members.
My first post here
I'm looking to start using the LibLathe addon in the latest version of FreeCAD.
but
I'm confused as to why it's not showing up in the Addon Manager list.
The gitHub files ... "FreeCAD_Turning_Addon-master" and "LibLathe-master" have been added to the "MOD" folder.

Can anyone guide me to what I've done wrong ?

THX much
Steve
Attachments
Screenshot (1).jpg
Screenshot (1).jpg (134.55 KiB) Viewed 1824 times
Currently living my best life on the Southern Oregon Coast
60 years experience in design, fabrication.
Certified welder TIG, MIG, Stick, Oxy/Acetylene processes.
3D CAD modeling, CNC machining, 3D printing, CO2 laser cutting.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53930
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

You should always add your FreeCAD infos to such posts.

There is another Mod folder for your personal Addons. On Windows it’s in %APPDATA%\FreeCAD.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
PaPaSteve
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2023 12:25 am

Re: LibLathe - Lathe Path Generation

Post by PaPaSteve »

THX chrisb

Is this what you mean by FreeCAD info ? :

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.2.29177 +426 (Git)

As per your suggestion I searched my computer for : %APPDATA%\FreeCAD to no avail.

Is this an administrator only task ?
Currently living my best life on the Southern Oregon Coast
60 years experience in design, fabrication.
Certified welder TIG, MIG, Stick, Oxy/Acetylene processes.
3D CAD modeling, CNC machining, 3D printing, CO2 laser cutting.
Post Reply