How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by nemesis »

hi,
check your CMakeCache.txt file you should turn on python 3

Code: Select all

//Use Python V3
USE_PY_3:BOOL=ON
User avatar
quick61
Veteran
Posts: 3803
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by quick61 »

nemesis wrote: Thu May 02, 2019 5:30 pm hi,
check your CMakeCache.txt file you should turn on python 3

Code: Select all

//Use Python V3
USE_PY_3:BOOL=ON
Thanks for the tip, but no joy. A complete clean new clone of the repo, used cmake-gui and turned on the USE_PY_3, turned off the BUILD_CXX_LIB and again, it builds with and installs in python2.7. Like I said, it shouldn't be this hard.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
kkremitzki
Veteran
Posts: 2511
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by kkremitzki »

I think the problem is actually in your system Boost library and some of its settings being picked up by the OCL build. For example, on Debian Unstable, following the same instructions, I can get a Python 3 build.
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by nemesis »

quick61 wrote: Thu May 02, 2019 6:21 pm . Like I said, it shouldn't be this hard.
Mark
kkremitzki wrote: Thu May 02, 2019 6:41 pm on Debian Unstable
Yep
Debian Unstable here also (but indeed quite stable :lol: )

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16540 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 554985dede771f9a6694baba2372cc60db86f17b
Python version: 3.7.1
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
User avatar
quick61
Veteran
Posts: 3803
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by quick61 »

Well that just figures, my stupid furry rear end on an LTS... maybe I'll try back again next year.
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
sliptonic
Veteran
Posts: 3457
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by sliptonic »

I was having this exact problem on Linux Mint 19. Never found a solution.
I ended up building on debian buster to work around it.

I really hope we find a fix.
User avatar
kkremitzki
Veteran
Posts: 2511
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by kkremitzki »

quick61 wrote: Thu May 02, 2019 7:36 pm Well that just figures, my stupid furry rear end on an LTS... maybe I'll try back again next year.
If you're feeling brave, you could install sudo apt install virt-manager and try testing things inside a VM which would let you keep your stable system intact while still letting you try new features.
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.
User avatar
kkremitzki
Veteran
Posts: 2511
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by kkremitzki »

Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.
User avatar
bill
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by bill »

herbk wrote: Wed Apr 24, 2019 7:45 pm Hi huegene,
huegene wrote: Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:30 pm Hi,
is it possible that you try to import opencamlib as: import OCL instead of: import ocl?
kind regards
huegene
I did, but get`s the same error..
:D herbk, try to "locate" ocl.so like follows:
oclSO.png
oclSO.png (20.37 KiB) Viewed 1554 times
... to see if it is successfully installed at least/and where!
herbk
Veteran
Posts: 2657
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: How to activate openCamLib after compiling it

Post by herbk »

Hi Bill,

i know where it is,- only newer FC not... :lol:

At an other PC i have still a early FC 0.17 which find ocl. A 0.18 AppImage at the same machine don-t find it.
I'm in mind, that the message is missleading... New FC Versions also find OCL, but can't work with it.
Gruß Herbert
Post Reply