Is FreeCAD suitable for landscape garden design?

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
growdigital

Is FreeCAD suitable for landscape garden design?

Post by growdigital »

I come from a graphics background (Inkscape, SVG, Illustrator etc) and as a total CAD newbie, I'm looking for a suitable tool for garden design. Inkscape is excellent for what it does but I need a bit more accuracy in measuring and positioning objects on a plan.

Is FreeCAD suitable for garden design? I have seen the thread on Civil Engineering Design, and I'm thinking FreeCAD may possibly be too complex for my needs but was wondering if other people have used it successfully? I do like the idea of being able to create a 3D model and possibly include sunlight data. My other option is to go for a simpler 2D program like LibreCAD.

many thanks, Jake
DeepSOIC
Veteran

Re: Is FreeCAD suitable for landscape garden design?

Post by DeepSOIC »

Hi!
You may get around in FreeCAD. FreeCAD even has Arch (architecture) workbench that may have some tools related to this, and some add-on modules (someone is/was working with sunlight stuff).

But I recommend you try SketchUp (not sure if its license fits your needs...). It is user-friendly, supports textures, and rendering with shadows, which seem to be of importance for you, but are almost lacking in FreeCAD. FreeCAD is more aimed at engineering. There might be better tools around for your puspose than SketchUp (e.g., maybe Blender), it's just something I've used.
yorik
Founder

Post by yorik »

I think it depends. If you want mostly to work in 2D, drop a lot of symbols, etc... Then you might be better with LibreCAD or QCAD. You will be able to work much faster there than in FreeCAD, where the 2D tools are still more rudimentary.