FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
ianj001
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by ianj001 »

sgrogan wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:53 pm Let me try.
I will use the 0.19_pre builds, but the stable releases are similar.
The actual builds are accomplished on azure, triggered from a conda-smithy repo, in this case https://github.com/looooo/freecad-feedstock
We trigger these builds manually by bumping the build number here: https://github.com/looooo/freecad-feeds ... ta.yaml#L3
These builds are deployed to the freecad/label/dev channel on conda-forge. At this point they are installable as a package from an anaconda/mini-conda installation.https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Conda
We package these builds by installing a miniconda environment with this FreeCAD package and some extra useful python modules.
The conda builds a packaged to make them portable without needing miniconda installed on the user system. Then deployed to https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre
This is done on the FreeCAD-AppImage repo. https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppImage, this runs as a cron job once a day. This will run even if the underlying conda-forge builds haven't changed.

If you have questions please ask.
I appreciate the information. I will look into it and let you know if I have questions.
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by looo »

BTW.: I guess we have more TODO'S:
- sometimes when the travis script fails the bundles are removed from the github-release page (like it currently is the case). ;)
User avatar
ianj001
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by ianj001 »

looo wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:01 pm BTW.: I guess we have more TODO'S:
- sometimes when the travis script fails the bundles are removed from the github-release page (like it currently is the case). ;)
I am just getting miniconda installed on my machine.... it's going to be a while before I can offer anything useful.
I am planning to build FreeCAD there just to understand the process and the moving parts.... hold that thought.
User avatar
ianj001
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by ianj001 »

Having installed miniconda and installed FreeCAD using conda, after setting up the environments. I think it would be good to sticky post the link to the WIKI for people who are just trying work out how to help https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Conda as it answers a lot of the questions that newbies like me have.

Having said that, now that I have everything installed when I try to run either the alpha version or the pre version (after enabling the correct environment (eg fcenv). I get a QT5 library error, I see the actually library is installed but does that mean the environment is not configured correctly?

I am running freecad.exe from the miniconda terminal window and get no Qt platform plugin could be initialized.
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by sgrogan »

ianj001 wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 6:38 pm I am running freecad.exe from the miniconda terminal window and get no Qt platform plugin could be initialized.
It's not so clear from the wiki but the conda environment needs to be activated and then run FreeCAD.

Code: Select all

conda activate fcenv-dev
freecad
Sorry didn't read carefully enough. I can test in about 90 minutes.
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
ianj001
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by ianj001 »

sgrogan wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 6:47 pm It's not so clear from the wiki but the conda environment needs to be activated and then run FreeCAD.

Code: Select all

conda activate fcenv-dev
freecad
Sorry didn't read carefully enough. I can test in about 90 minutes.
Yeah, that's what I did. - I am getting the error. I see all the files there but it's not working for me.
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by sgrogan »

ianj001 wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 6:50 pm Yeah, that's what I did. - I am getting the error. I see all the files there but it's not working for me.
No problem here with freecad from freecad/label/dev
Did you install miniconda system wide or as user. I'm as user.
You can try starting FreeCAD from the active environment with freecad -l
A log will be created in %appdata%/freecad, maybe that offers a clue?
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
ianj001
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by ianj001 »

sgrogan wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 8:59 pm No problem here with freecad from freecad/label/dev
Did you install miniconda system wide or as user. I'm as user.
You can try starting FreeCAD from the active environment with freecad -l
A log will be created in %appdata%/freecad, maybe that offers a clue?
I installed as user too. - I tried freecad -l,

Log: Init: App::FreeCADInit.py done
Log: Init: Creating Gui::Application and QApplication
Log: Could not find the Qt platform plugin "windows" in ""
Log: This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by sgrogan »

ianj001 wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 9:35 pm
sgrogan wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 8:59 pm No problem here with freecad from freecad/label/dev
Did you install miniconda system wide or as user. I'm as user.
You can try starting FreeCAD from the active environment with freecad -l
A log will be created in %appdata%/freecad, maybe that offers a clue?
I installed as user too. - I tried freecad -l,

Log: Init: App::FreeCADInit.py done
Log: Init: Creating Gui::Application and QApplication
Log: Could not find the Qt platform plugin "windows" in ""
Log: This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
Can you find qt.conf
I think it should be somewhere like
C:\users\username\miniconda\envs\fcenv-dev
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
ianj001
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:38 pm
Location: USA

Re: FreeCAD Conda Distribution

Post by ianj001 »

sgrogan wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 9:40 pm Can you find qt.conf
I think it should be somewhere like
C:\users\username\miniconda\envs\fcenv-dev
[Paths]
Prefix = C:/Users/ianj0/miniconda3/envs/fcenv-dev/Library
Binaries = C:/Users/ianj0/miniconda3/envs/fcenv-dev/Library/bin
Libraries = C:/Users/ianj0/miniconda3/envs/fcenv-dev/Library/lib
Headers = C:/Users/ianj0/miniconda3/envs/fcenv-dev/Library/include/qt
TargetSpec = win32-msvc
HostSpec = win32-msvc

I checked that "C:/Users/ianj0/miniconda3/envs/fcenv-dev/Library/include/qt" exists and contains the Qt stuff.
Post Reply