[Suggestion] Pie-Menu improvement(s)

Report observations made with the new Toponaming branch.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Petrikas

[Suggestion] Pie-Menu improvement(s)

Post by Petrikas »

Hello,

Been waiting for a Link branch section for quite a while. Opening new bug/issue tickets for small improvements on GitHub felt a big excessive, it's nice that there's a place for such things now.

Now, I've been using pie menus since forever (~ year 2012? In Maya they were called Marking Menus as far as I remember), and every software that eventually gets this functionality, improves my workflow 5-fold.

Including FreeCAD Link! The existence of Pie-Menus is great, I'm currently trying to get as much functionality from them as possible. There are a few shortcomings though, some of them might be an easy fix (I keep saying that, but it's never the case)

1. Accessing the Pie Menu.
Currently a pie menu is accessing by 'clicking' a button. It's OK, but pie-menus should be gesture-based. Something that doesn't require too much thought. And gestures are usually performed when paired with an "Activate gestures" button. A button that you click-and-hold and perform a gesture.

So, for example, if the Q button opens a pie menu that changes the View of the viewport:

Currently:
Press and Depress Release Q button, perform 'gesture'. X amount of time passes. Something happens.

Should be:
Press (and hold) Q, perform 'gesture', Release Q. Something happens (immediately after release of Q).

From a UX standpoint, you want something to happen after your direct input (Moving your mouse is a very 'weak' input, as it isn't exact, it doesn't have a start or a finish, it doesn't "click").

Pushing a keyboard button (and holding), moving the mouse and releasing the button, subliminally, also feels like 1 action that you perform with both hands. Because it happens at the same time.