Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
Yasser
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by Yasser »

Hello,
during building by clang and clang++ compilers,
this error message shows up

Code: Select all

[16/3398] Copying C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Mod/AddonManager/compact_view.py to C:/msys64/home/Baba/Build/Mod/AddonManager/compact_view.py
[17/3398] Generating version_check
fatal: not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git
'bzr' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' doesn't exist
svn: E155007: '/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' is not a working copy
Unknown version control
C:/msys64/home/Baba/Build/src/Build/Version.h.out written
[18/3398] Generating Version.h
[19/3398] Building CXX object src/3rdParty/libE57Format/CMakeFiles/E57Format.dir/src/CompressedVectorNodeImpl.cpp.obj
[20/3398] Building CXX object src/3rdParty/libE57Format/CMakeFiles/E57Format.dir/src/Common.cpp.obj
then continue building
so what is 'bzr' ?
and why svn module gives wrong directory as if it was 2 path's combined together by mistake !!??

Code: Select all

svn: E155007: '/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' is not a working copy
where to fix this fatal error, if anyone have any idea pls help
thank you.
They call me Baba, the bug master :D
Let us throw some stones into still waters
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by Gift »

Yasser wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 10:36 am Hello,
during building by clang and clang++ compilers,
this error message shows up

Code: Select all

[16/3398] Copying C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Mod/AddonManager/compact_view.py to C:/msys64/home/Baba/Build/Mod/AddonManager/compact_view.py
[17/3398] Generating version_check
fatal: not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git
'bzr' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' doesn't exist
svn: E155007: '/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' is not a working copy
Unknown version control
C:/msys64/home/Baba/Build/src/Build/Version.h.out written
[18/3398] Generating Version.h
[19/3398] Building CXX object src/3rdParty/libE57Format/CMakeFiles/E57Format.dir/src/CompressedVectorNodeImpl.cpp.obj
[20/3398] Building CXX object src/3rdParty/libE57Format/CMakeFiles/E57Format.dir/src/Common.cpp.obj
then continue building
so what is 'bzr' ?
and why svn module gives wrong directory as if it was 2 path's combined together by mistake !!??

Code: Select all

svn: E155007: '/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' is not a working copy
where to fix this fatal error, if anyone have any idea pls help
thank you.
Ad hoc, do not use absolute paths with windows style. E.g.:

Code: Select all

C:/msys64/home/
I mean msys2 use chroot. So, it should be:

Code: Select all

/home/
User avatar
Yasser
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Re: Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by Yasser »

Gift wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 10:52 am Ad hoc, do not use absolute paths with windows style. E.g.:

Code: Select all

C:/msys64/home/
I mean msys2 use chroot. So, it should be:

Code: Select all

/home/
But i didn't change anything yet in the sources or even cmakelists.txt except that i added these lines before project(FreeCAD) at the main cmakelists

Code: Select all

# Change compiler type
  set( CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER "C:/msys64/mingw64/bin/clang++.exe" )
  set( CMAKE_C_COMPILER   "C:/msys64/mingw64/bin/clang.exe" )
They call me Baba, the bug master :D
Let us throw some stones into still waters
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by Gift »

'/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' doesn't exist

Set you one (green or red) of this paths?
User avatar
Yasser
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Re: Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by Yasser »

Gift wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 11:41 am '/home/Baba/FreeCAD/src/Build/C:/msys64/home/Baba/FreeCAD' doesn't exist

Set you one (green or red) of this paths?
Okay i got it, but where to set it ?? this error happened between copying AddonManager and building E57Format (Generating version_checking)
anyway i'll try to find it, then write it here.
thank you for your hint.
They call me Baba, the bug master :D
Let us throw some stones into still waters
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by adrianinsaval »

version_check tries to detect what version control system is used in the source and then extract the revision count, hash and last revision date from that, FreeCAD has been using git for years so that's the only version control relevant there really. Did you make a git clone of the project or download a snapshot? If you didn't do a git clone it's normal that version check fails, don't waste time trying to fix svn or bzr stuff, those are other version control system that of course won't work. Those weird paths might be affecting something else though.
User avatar
Yasser
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Re: Win 7 Msys2 : during building this error shows up 'fatal: not a git repository ...' !!

Post by Yasser »

adrianinsaval wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 2:47 pm version_check tries to detect what version control system is used in the source and then extract the revision count, hash and last revision date from that, FreeCAD has been using git for years so that's the only version control relevant there really. Did you make a git clone of the project or download a snapshot? If you didn't do a git clone it's normal that version check fails, don't waste time trying to fix svn or bzr stuff, those are other version control system that of course won't work. Those weird paths might be affecting something else though.
You are right, i grabbed the new release 0.20.0 through git and the error disappeared.
thank you for the hint.
They call me Baba, the bug master :D
Let us throw some stones into still waters
Post Reply