App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 8450
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Post by Roy_043 »

Code: Select all

App.Version()[3] =>
'D:\x08ldgit_cachegithub.comFreeCADFreeCAD master'

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.25997 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 77b198048a63f1e9ca15eef64c8042d599a14cf3
Python version: 3.8.12
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.2
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2893
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Post by Syres »

Confirmed, it looks to have been an issue in Windows Conda builds for a good while.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24276 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.19.1)
Hash: a88db11e0a908f6e38f92bfc5187b13ebe470438
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 8450
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Post by Roy_043 »

Thanks for confirming.

looo wrote: pinged by pinger macro
Can you have a look at this?
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Post by looo »

I think this is related to the way how conda-build works with git. It's on the list to download the source directly. Currently git is needed to retrive the commit number. Maybe in the future we find an automated way to create sources with git information added.

Btw. what is the expected output of the quoted command?
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Post by wmayer »

Btw. what is the expected output of the quoted command?
'git://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD.git master'

It looks like the sources are hosted on the local disk and the remote origin url is set to the local path. Could this be possible?
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: App.Version() returns string with invalid character (Conda build?)

Post by looo »

wmayer wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 4:27 pm
Btw. what is the expected output of the quoted command?
'git://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD.git master'

It looks like the sources are hosted on the local disk and the remote origin url is set to the local path. Could this be possible?
This is the way how conda works with git. Recently I switched to a process where the git information is first inserted into the source and the final tarballs are stored on the FreeCAD-Bundle release page. These tarballs are then used for building FreeCAD. Not sure if this issue is still valid.

This is what I get with a recent version on windows:

Code: Select all

['0', '20', '26761 (Git)', 'Unknown', '2021/12/21 23:07:02']
Post Reply