Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Lekes
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:50 am

Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

FreeCAD version 0.20.2 using Windows 10
Newbie here. Just downloaded today. At the final installation window, if I check the box "Launch FreeCAD", it starts without any issues. If I close program and try to start from the icon on my desktop, I see the mechanical image showing files are loading, then I get a big white screen with FreeCAD in upper left corner. After a short time a note appears next to it saying (Not Responding) and that's all...no further action even after waiting for 10 minutes.
I have confirmed by uninstalling a re-installing a few times. I am not very technical regarding command files, libraries, etc. Any assistance is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 4377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by adrianinsaval »

Can you try uninstalling and checking the option to remove all data, then reinstall but do not launch from the installer, this might be a permissions issue due to FreeCAD creating config and/or cache files as admin when launched the first time from the installer
Lekes
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:50 am

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

I uninstalled. I did not see any option to "remove all data" but did see and checked the box to remove user preferences. During process a window opened noting that doing so would also delete installed FreeCAD addons. Do I agree with this? I clicked YES. Re-installed using all default when given an option. Did NOT launch from installer. Clicked on desktop icon and it opened! BUT, when I closed (I did not create anything...just closed FreeCAD) and tried again...I get the white screen and "not responding". I repeated this process but actually created a test part...just a cube and saved it. Closed (Exit from pull-down) FreeCAD. Tried to open again using the icon and I'm back at the white screen, not responding. Seems like whatever I do, the second time I try to open FreeCAD, it fails.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 4377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by adrianinsaval »

very strange... can you run from cmd with the --write-log flag? Then upload the log file here, it should be created at %APPDATA%\FreeCAD\FreeCAD.log
Lekes
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:50 am

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

Like I said in first post...I'm not very technical. You'll need to be more detailed. How do I get to cmd? Is that the text window in the lower left of my desktop? How do I run from cmd with the --write-log flag? And where would I find the file: %APPDATA%\FreeCAD\FreeCAD.log
Sorry...I just never got into the nitty-gritty of computers. I know how to run them...if there's no problems. Otherwise...I would call the IT Department.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 4377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by adrianinsaval »

I'll assume you installed in the default location, do this:
Open start menu and type cmd then hit enter, a cmd window should open
In the cmd window type:

Code: Select all

cd "c:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.20\bin"

and hit enter, then type

Code: Select all

freecad.exe --write-log
the freecad splashscreen should show up as before, wait until it dissapears and freecad crashes
Now open the file explorer and in the adress bar write %APPDATA%\FreeCAD and hit enter, it should open a folder where a file FreeCAD.log should be located, upload that file here.
Lekes
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:50 am

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

Is this what you're looking for? (attached)
Attachments
FreeCAD.log
(11.95 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
Lekes
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:50 am

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

Is this what you're looking for? (attached)
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 4377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by adrianinsaval »

yes but I don't see anything wrong with it... strange, try running the conda dev version: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-Bund ... kly-builds
Lekes
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:50 am

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

I deleted the previous version and installed version 21 (image attached). I had the same results. Opened once from desktop icon (not from installer) and created a simple test block. Closed the program. I tried to reopen from desktop icon and I get the white screen and shortly after the note of "Not Responding". I uninstalled. Installed again but get the same results...2nd time opening it fails. :(
Attachments
FreeCAD image.jpg
FreeCAD image.jpg (5.58 KiB) Viewed 299 times
Post Reply