Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

Post Reply
ReneSci
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:30 pm

Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

Post by ReneSci »

I am trying to make a refinement volume- (using cfMesh)
2022-09-17 08_09_22-FreeCAD 0.20.1.png
2022-09-17 08_09_22-FreeCAD 0.20.1.png (20.21 KiB) Viewed 1583 times
Note "Internal" = "true"

Which creates this meshDicht file:

Code: Select all

/*--------------------------------*- C++ -*----------------------------------*\
|                                                                             |
|                Generated by the CfdOF workbench for FreeCAD                 |
|                  https://gitlab.com/opensimproject/CfdOF                    |
|                                                                             |
\*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
FoamFile
{
    version     4.0;
    format      ascii;
    class       dictionary;
    location    "system";
    object      meshDict;
}
// * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * //

surfaceFile       "Cut_Geometry.fms";

maxCellSize       0.0017;
boundaryCellSize  0.0017;

objectRefinements
{
    MeshRefinement001
    {
        additionalRefinementLevels 1;
        type insideSurface;
        closedSurfaceFile "constant/triSurface/MeshRefinement001.stl";
    }
}


// ************************************************************************* //
but the result is an error message:
13.6: OpenFOAM IO error: Unknown objectRefinement type insideSurface file: system/meshDict.objectRefinements.MeshRefinement at line 26 to 28.
13.6: Mesher exited with error

If I put "Internal" = "false" it runs ok but then it is not a refinement volume.

Code: Select all

/*--------------------------------*- C++ -*----------------------------------*\
|                                                                             |
|                Generated by the CfdOF workbench for FreeCAD                 |
|                  https://gitlab.com/opensimproject/CfdOF                    |
|                                                                             |
\*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
FoamFile
{
    version     4.0;
    format      ascii;
    class       dictionary;
    location    "system";
    object      meshDict;
}
// * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * //

surfaceFile       "Cut_Geometry.fms";

maxCellSize       0.0017;
boundaryCellSize  0.0017;


surfaceMeshRefinement
{
    MeshRefinement001
    {
        additionalRefinementLevels  1;
        surfaceFile "constant/triSurface/MeshRefinement001.stl";
    }
}


// ************************************************************************* //


I have not been able to find anything in this forum (or the rest of the internet) on this ?

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.1.29410 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20
Hash: f5d13554ecc7a456fb6e970568ae5c74ba727563
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: Danish/Denmark (da_DK)
Installed mods: 
  * A2plus 0.4.59
  * ArchTextures
  * Assembly4 0.12.4
  * CfdOF 1.17.9
  * Defeaturing 1.2.0
  * Dracula 0.0.2
  * ExtremeProDark 1.0.4
  * IconThemes
  * lattice2 1.0.0
  * Manipulator 1.4.9
  * MeshRemodel 1.8919.0
  * parts_library
  * Plot 2022.4.17
  * sheetmetal 0.2.57
  * workfeature
KAKM
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 04, 2021 12:17 am

Re: Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

Post by KAKM »

That error means that "insideSurface" isn't a refinement type it recognizes. What OpenFOAM version are you using? It should say in the documentation somewhere what allowable values for refinement type are. If you can't find that, you might try "surface" as the refinement type instead.
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 810
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

Post by oliveroxtoby »

ReneSci wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 6:23 am but the result is an error message:
13.6: OpenFOAM IO error: Unknown objectRefinement type insideSurface file: system/meshDict.objectRefinements.MeshRefinement at line 26 to 28.
13.6: Mesher exited with error
This is an enhancement that is not in the original version of cfMesh. You need to have the CfdOF version of cfMesh installed. This can be done through the Preferences page. If you don't, the dependency checker should inform you. What does it say?
ReneSci
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:30 pm

Re: Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

Post by ReneSci »

This URL is written in the cfMesh URL (is the default when installing the cfdOF workbench) :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/cfmesh ... p/download

The dependency checker reports:
----------------------------------------------------
Checking dependencies...
System: Windows
Runtime: MinGW
OpenFOAM directory: C:\Program Files\ESI-OpenCFD\OpenFOAM\v2206
cfMesh (CfdOF version) not found
Paraview executable: C:/Program Files/ParaView 5.10.1-Windows-Python3.9-msvc2017-AMD64/bin/paraview.exe
gmsh executable: C:/Program Files/FreeCAD 0.20/bin/gmsh.exe
----------------------------------------------------

I look like I do not have the CfdOF version installed. How can I change this ?
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 810
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

Post by oliveroxtoby »

ReneSci wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 10:31 pm This URL is written in the cfMesh URL (is the default when installing the cfdOF workbench) :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/cfmesh ... p/download
Yes, that's what it should be.
I look like I do not have the CfdOF version installed. How can I change this ?
Did installing it by clicking "Install cfMesh" not work?
ReneSci
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:30 pm

Re: Error on refinement tybe "insideSurface"

Post by ReneSci »

-> Did installing it by clicking "Install cfMesh" not work?

Hmmmm.... First time I tried to re-install:

Code: Select all

Downloading cfMesh, please wait...cfMesh downloaded to C:\Users\U265227\AppData\Local\Temp\tmp1xmodooj.zipInstalling cfMesh...Install completed

Checking dependencies...
System: Windows
Runtime: MinGW
OpenFOAM directory: C:\Program Files\ESI-OpenCFD\OpenFOAM\v2206
cfMesh (CfdOF version) not found
Paraview executable: C:/Program Files/ParaView 5.10.1-Windows-Python3.9-msvc2017-AMD64/bin/paraview.exe
gmsh executable: C:/Program Files/FreeCAD 0.20/bin/gmsh.exe
Next time I installed and (again) restarted freeCAD it looks and works ok :

Code: Select all

Checking dependencies...
System: Windows
Runtime: MinGW
OpenFOAM directory: C:\Program Files\ESI-OpenCFD\OpenFOAM\v2206
Paraview executable: C:/Program Files/ParaView 5.10.1-Windows-Python3.9-msvc2017-AMD64/bin/paraview.exe
gmsh executable: C:/Program Files/FreeCAD 0.20/bin/gmsh.exe
Maybe this whole "error" in the first place, could be caused because I - prior to this failure - did an separate installation of openFOAM downloaded from here
https://sourceforge.net/projects/openfo ... e/download
"OpenFOAM-v2206-windows-mingw.exe"
I thought that openFOAM had its own user interface GUI I could use to investigate other failures when they sometimes appear in the various models.

One of the, sometimes big hurtles, when starting to use new software (like openFOAM) is to learn to interpret the various warnings and error messages.

Thank you for your help!

By the way: It can be a bit hard to read the "Output":
2022-09-19 10_05_33-Preferences.png
2022-09-19 10_05_33-Preferences.png (2.27 KiB) Viewed 1251 times
Question:
If/when any of the installed applications (openFOAM, cfMesh etc.) are updated, how can the user get the updates without knowing the new url's - or get information on the url's pointing towards the updates ?
Post Reply