Sketch changes from hex to square when spreadsheet value is changed

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
db44022

Sketch changes from hex to square when spreadsheet value is changed

Post by db44022 »

I am new to FreeCAD.

I am building a parametric model that I want to use to create multiple 3D printed parts. I have created a spreadsheet cell that defines the number of holes (hex pockets) desired, and then calculates the length of the part and the position of the first pockets that will be used in a linear pattern. There is a sketch that defines the shape of the pockets that are in a linear pattern based on the length parameter.

However, when I change the "NumberOfBits" parameter, my sketch changes from a hexagon to a square. I cannot figure out what is causing the sketch to change.

If the value for NumberOfBits is increased rather than decreased, the model seems to work.

I have spent a lot of time trying to figure this out, and am about to give up and create a bunch of manual files... :(

Thanks for any help!

FreeCAD 0.20.2
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.2.29177 +426 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached from 0.20.2)
Hash: 930dd9a76203a3260b1e6256c70c1c3cad8c5cb8
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods:
* A2plus 0.4.60h
Attachments
The model prior to making the change.
The model prior to making the change.
OriginalState.jpg (309.23 KiB) Viewed 808 times
Hex Small Bit Unlabeled Rail Block_V1 - Fails.FCStd
(69.81 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
The model after making the change.
The model after making the change.
AfterChangingValue.jpg (308.91 KiB) Viewed 808 times
Last edited by db44022 on Sat Jan 28, 2023 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
chrisb
Veteran