pad to point?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
JussyAD
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:30 pm

pad to point?

Post by JussyAD »

Good day

What is the best method to pad my rectangle to height A on the sphere portion? Pad to first is not working for this particular task :(

Thank you in advance.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 8.1 Version 6.3 (Build 9600)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.1.29410 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20
Hash: f5d13554ecc7a456fb6e970568ae5c74ba727563
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/South Africa (en_ZA)
Installed mods: 
  * A2plus
  * BIM
  * CurvedShapes
  * Curves
  * Dracula 0.0.2
  * ThreadProfile
Attachments
height on sphere portion.PNG
height on sphere portion.PNG (19.1 KiB) Viewed 588 times
qtr-sphere and block.FCStd
(27.76 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
JussyAD
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:30 pm

Re: pad to point?

Post by JussyAD »

Just looking at it like this, I was wondering...can one use maths, namely Pythagorus?
JussyAD
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:30 pm

Re: pad to point?

Post by JussyAD »

sorry, I realise this is not a great example because the height is a whole number, but what if it was irrational?
Bance
Veteran
Posts: 4186
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: pad to point?

Post by Bance »

Bit of a cack-handed way to model......

It can be done with an expression:

From Pythagoras

In my example... sqrt(pow(Sketch.Constraints.Radius; 2) - pow(Sketch001.Constraints.FromCP; 2))
Attachments
Cack.FCStd
(16.53 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53929
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: pad to point?

Post by chrisb »

First thing I would do is to vastly simplify the model
- there is no boolean needed at all, use a revolve instead. A primitive sphere would do as well or depending on taste even better.
- The DatumPlane on one of the main planes can be omitted

Back to your question. Let FreeCAD do the Pythagoras for you:
SnipScreenshot-b786ab.png
SnipScreenshot-b786ab.png (7.86 KiB) Viewed 460 times
Attach the sketch which you want to pad to the upper end of the vertical line:
SnipScreenshot-ff4639.png
SnipScreenshot-ff4639.png (21.12 KiB) Viewed 460 times
Pad "Up to face" and select the XY-plane.
SnipScreenshot-63a840.png
SnipScreenshot-63a840.png (14.54 KiB) Viewed 460 times
It would be even easier of you make the helper sketch rectangular and pad it for 20mm. That would leave you with two sketches, a revolution and a pad instead of three sketches, three bodies, and a boolean.
Attachments
qtr-sphere and block_cb.FCStd
(16.33 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 9475
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: pad to point?

Post by Shalmeneser »

:idea:
Attachments
PythagoreIsDead_SHALM.FCStd
(19.94 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Capture d’écran 2022-10-01 184816.jpg
Capture d’écran 2022-10-01 184816.jpg (31.32 KiB) Viewed 435 times
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 9475
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: pad to point?

Post by Shalmeneser »

:idea:
Attachments
PythagoreIsDead_SHALM2.FCStd
(16.05 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
JussyAD
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:30 pm

Re: pad to point?

Post by JussyAD »

Really appreciate all the good advice and methods. Thanks!
Post Reply