Part Design Grid Units

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
FreeCADnewb!

Part Design Grid Units

Post by FreeCADnewb! »

Hello,

I'm a FreeCAD newb using version 0.20.1 on Linux Mint 21 and was trying a YouTube tutorial when I noticed the units were in mm. I typically use inches to 4 decimal places. I went to Edit > Preferences and General and found the Units tab and chose US customary (in/lb); I also chose Number of decimals to 4.

I noticed that when I created a design in Part Design, in the bottom right of the screen the units show inches in 2 decimal places and the Grid coordinates still show in mm.

How do I get my design to show 4 decimal places and the Grid coordinates to show inches? I can't seem to locate where to configure this and the Google wasn't helpful.

Thank you.
Shalmeneser
Veteran

Re: Part Design Grid Units

Post by Shalmeneser »

:idea:
Attachments
Capture d’écran 2022-08-24 085837.jpg
Capture d’écran 2022-08-24 085837.jpg (59.21 KiB) Viewed 1420 times
FreeCADnewb!

Post by FreeCADnewb! »

When I create a part, when moving the mouse around the Grid coordinates still show in millimeters and not in inches. As well, I would like to use 4 decimal places for dimensions such as 11/16 inches which equals .6875 inches. Anyone else have an idea where I can correct this? Thank you.
wandererfan
Veteran

Post by wandererfan »

FreeCADnewb! wrote: Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:29 pm When I create a part, when moving the mouse around the Grid coordinates still show in millimeters and not in inches. As well, I would like to use 4 decimal places for dimensions such as 11/16 inches which equals .6875 inches. Anyone else have an idea where I can correct this? Thank you.
decimal places: Edit > Preferences > General > Units > Number of decimals
FreeCADnewb!