Orthographic/Perspective auto switch

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
GigiG

Orthographic/Perspective auto switch

Post by GigiG »

Hi, I'm new to FreeCAD, great program. I'm working on the LEGO brick tutorial in the Yorik's manual. I played in the past with Rhino3D ans Sketchup and I'm used to work in perspective view mode, that I prefer with respect to orthographic projection. However, I admit that in the Sketcher tool the better viewing projection is orthographic. I was wondering if it is possible to get 'automatically' switched this two modes, when I change the benchmark between Sketcher and PartDesign. Thanks and regards.
Gigi

[EDIT]: It seems that the keyboard shortcuts V,O V,P doesn't work in Sketcher

--------------------------------------------
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.3.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.7.4
Qt version: 5.12.4
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
TheMarkster
Veteran

Re: Orthographic/Perspective auto switch

Post by TheMarkster »

Use the macro openBrain created here:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=43390

Create a new view in the view menu. Set the workbench and desired view mode for each view tab. When you switch between tabs the view mode is remembered.
openBrain
Veteran

Post by openBrain »

If needed, I can tweak a bit the macro so it fit your needs without need to open several views. Let me know. ;)
Lupin

Post by Lupin »

Hi!

I'd like for the exact same thing to happen. Sketcher in ortho-mode, everything else in perspective mode (also for the reason that the text displayed for constraints is broken in perspective view and gets unreadably small). I tried the macro, but i don't get how it is supposed to do that.