How to use datum geometry in 0.17

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
velociraptux

How to use datum geometry in 0.17

Post by velociraptux »

hi there
I'm trying to create a parametric design with the new part design of freecad 0.17. But I have never used the datum plane before and it is rather difficult to understand how it works. This is the object I want to create.
Capture d'écran de 2017-02-04 04-42-42.png
Capture d'écran de 2017-02-04 04-42-42.png (134.3 KiB) Viewed 10321 times
I tried several methods to link the different pad and sketch together with datum plane, without getting there. When I change the parameters in the spreadsheet, the object does not keep its shape. Unless I fully constraint the sketch or use external geometry, but my goal is understand how the new workflow works.
Can anyone recreate my object with datum plane or shape binder (I don't know the difference), please?
Or explain how to do this.
Thanks a lot

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.9944 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 9b58d8bd6fe19b0b921ffa0b5712186a0b3be09d
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Attachments
corners.fcstd
(28.46 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
bejant
Veteran

Re: How to use datum geometry in 0.17

Post by bejant »

velociraptux wrote:hi there
I'm trying to create a parametric design with the new part design of freecad 0.17. But I have never used the datum plane before
Hi velociraptux, if you look at the Tools > Dependency Graph of your model you'll see that you've already used the X-Y Datum Plane (bottom row, center):
20170204a.png
20170204a.png (97.01 KiB) Viewed 10311 times