Embedding assembly in FreeCAD's various uses

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Roland

Embedding assembly in FreeCAD's various uses

Post by Roland »

Dear Assemblers,

I am not a coder, but rather a user who is quite dependent upon the successful development of FreeCAD. (representing a Micro SME, developing some innovative chemical processes).

Let me share some experience regarding assembling and FreeCAD. It could be quite relevant for the development of Assembly.

Assembly is not only a toolbench for viewing & developing how parts interact, it also produces results that are to be elaborated further. For example into construction drawings and instructions. For example into Fuses that are to be analyzed further with FEM of CFD.

The only assemblers with which I have experience is with Assembly 2 (Hamish) and with A2+ (kbwbe). In the first place, I want to give great credit to kbwbe for his A2+ WB and the support that he gives to users like me. And the level of this WB seems to be adequate to analyze the interaction of parts in the 3D space (in terms of shaping things).

In my case, however, I demand more than that from an assembler. Here is my recent experience:
  • I was not able to make proper construction drawings from A2+ assemblies. I cannot analyze the exact reasons behind this issue. The TechDraw developer Wandererfan looked at the documents and can explain more about the technical background.