Jacobian Error Woes

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

Bimdan

Jacobian Error Woes

Post by Bimdan »

Howdy

Utter noob here running off Dev 0.20 (also tested on 0.19.4) - Windows 11

Day 1
After spending a day banging my head against the wall as to why I was getting 201 Jacobian errors (I know I know sorry this again) on something as simple as plate steel I found that a combination of removing the angle on countersunk holes to just a through-hole and removing any recesses in combination to moving to a GMSH mesh got me past the post (a solution I read on the forums). Design compromises were nothing major and I was starting to respect FreeCAD to the extent I asked it for a date

Day 2, it ate all the steak, blocked my toilet and slapped my face before I said anything whilst leaving in my car which it then crashed.

You see I'm now working on essentially a glorified tube (single piece hose connector with square mounting plate) so bit by bit I'm removing detail (say goodbye fillets and chamfers) and still I get errors.

Fixing points on the mounting plate are 4 corner through holes (I seem to remember issues in the past where I had to merge the 2 inner faces of the bolt holes to avoid issues but these aren't present on this particular SpaceClaim export but are shown on import)

I've tried simplifying how many and where I put the constraints and forces and tried different STEP versions on the off chance it was that (and IGES as well) but to no avail

I just don't get how FEM in FreeCAD can be useful if you have to remove so much detail from your actual part the results are irrelevant given the differences between the actual model and the FEM mesh.

I don't want to come across as entitled especially when it comes to free software, I've just spent almost a day bashing my head against the wall and I want a beer and cuddle [grabs wife]. Especially as it's probably me doing something wrong lol.