GRBL post processing for drilling

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Jimb3893

GRBL post processing for drilling

Post by Jimb3893 »

Hi FreeCad community. I am a long time CAD designer and CAM programmer. Since retirement I have gotten into wood working with CNC routers. I have two machines with GRBL controllers. GRBL is not capable of canned cycles and so it is necessary to edit the code for drilling operations. This can become tedious and time consuming. I've dabbled in FreeCad for a while and have used it to convert mesh files into solids. I read somewhere that FreeCad has an option to translate drilling code to G1/G0 moves for drilling. I'm still pretty new to FreeCad but I just don't see that option. Is this real or just a rumour? If it is real is there a tutorial for using it?
Many Thanks
Jim Baker
Last edited by Kunda1 on Wed Nov 30, 2022 3:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed shouting-case
chrisb
Veteran

Re: GRBL POST PROCESSOR FOR DRILLING

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

When setting up the job, you select grbl postprocessor. If you hover there over the input field "Arguments", you see that there is an additional parameter '--translate_drill'.

I wonder why your grbl cannot understand these. Maybe it is time for a firmware upgrade.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Jimb3893

Post by Jimb3893 »

Thanks Chris. Perhaps I don't understand the grbl requirement. I am assuming that grbl doesn't recognize G81 or G83 and will error. So far the posted code from FreeCad includes G81. I did include the "--translate_drill" parameter but then it doesn't successfully post a file. I'm sure I am missing something. I installed 0.20.1 this morning.

Jim
Jimb3893

Post by Jimb3893 »