Weird Path behavior - SOLVED!!

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Post Reply
dkolars
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:43 pm

Weird Path behavior - SOLVED!!

Post by dkolars »

Drew shape (toothed gear)... added squares inside. Went to Path, created a Job, selected all the faces of the squares inside the main shape. Set all the cutting depths/speeds/etc. Clicked "OK". Got this!!
Screenshot_2022-01-13_20-29-09.png
Screenshot_2022-01-13_20-29-09.png (309.66 KiB) Viewed 477 times
What the what? I have had this happen before, and can see nothing wrong in what I've done. Clicking any of the Model-Body.Faces in the Base Geometry of the Profile highlights the faces inside the squares. Yet, the program is drawing the cut on the inside of the outer face!! That will be the last cut, and on the OUTSIDE of the outer face!

Any idea why this behavior happens, and what might cause it?

Just go the newest AppImage yesterday, and had no problems then, and like I said, this has happened before.

TIA
Gear - Clock - Squares.FCStd
(148.4 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Last edited by dkolars on Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git) AppImage
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
dkolars
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Weird Path behavior

Post by dkolars »

SOLVED!!

I deleted all the faces, tried again. Nope... so went ahead and did the outside to see if it would work... yes, it did, but did not cut the shape of the teeth, cut a curve in, then back out. Hmmm

AHA... turned off "Use Compensation" and added half the bit dia to the "Extra Offset" box, and 'poof', all is working. I was under the impression that the Compensation was doing that offset, but apparently not... time to do some reading...
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git) AppImage
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40224
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Weird Path behavior

Post by chrisb »

dkolars wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:00 amI was under the impression that the Compensation was doing that offset, but apparently not...
Yes it should. Please attach your full FreeCAD info as described in the IMPORTANT forum rules linked above.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40224
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Weird Path behavior - SOLVED!!

Post by chrisb »

In the file from the original post you have to switch in Profile/Operation the Cut Side from Inside to Outside.
SnipScreenshot-e7261f.png
SnipScreenshot-e7261f.png (50.37 KiB) Viewed 416 times
OS: macOS 10.16
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.27008 (Git)
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.9.9
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: C/Default (C)
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dkolars
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Weird Path behavior

Post by dkolars »

chrisb wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 6:47 am
dkolars wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:00 amI was under the impression that the Compensation was doing that offset, but apparently not...
Yes it should. Please attach your full FreeCAD info as described in the IMPORTANT forum rules linked above.
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.19.2)
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

OS: macOS 10.16
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.27008 (Git)
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.9.9
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: C/Default (C)
chrisb wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 6:51 am In the file from the original post you have to switch in Profile/Operation the Cut Side from Inside to Outside.
In the original post, I had NOT selected the outer faces of the drawing, but the 40 faces of the squares on the inside, set to Cut Side on the inside. FC created a path to cut the INSIDE of the outer faces, NOT what I had selected!! Hence my post.

Here is the finished file
Gear - Clock - Squares.FCStd
(156.03 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git) AppImage
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 11213
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Weird Path behavior - SOLVED!!

Post by Kunda1 »

Moved to Path subforum
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
GeneFC
Veteran
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Weird Path behavior

Post by GeneFC »

dkolars wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 11:15 pm In the original post, I had NOT selected the outer faces of the drawing, but the 40 faces of the squares on the inside, set to Cut Side on the inside. FC created a path to cut the INSIDE of the outer faces, NOT what I had selected!! Hence my post.
I looked at the original file, and there was a significant problem.

The entire top face was selected (Face83) in addition to the many faces for the holes. That is why the entire shape was processed.

When I tried, without your tool set, the default tool was too large to fit inside the holes. You may have had a small tool selected that did not come through in the posted file, however.

Gene
User avatar
onekk
Veteran
Posts: 1614
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: Weird Path behavior - SOLVED!!

Post by onekk »

or probably, as the toolpath seems to show, tool diameter is too big to cut out holes.

Regards

Carlo D.
Blog: https://onekk-maker.blogspot.com/

GitHub Page: https://github.com/onekk/freecad-doc with:
  • Introduzione a FreeCAD in Italiano
  • FreeCAD Scripting Guide in English
To contribute see on GitHub
Post Reply