Naming policy

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Quentin_Plsn

Naming policy

Post by Quentin_Plsn »

Hello everyone,

I'm just starting out with FreeCAD programming and I would like some clarification regarding the naming conventions in Python. I have already looked at the related topics on the forum but it is still not clear to me. In most workbenches, there is a mix of mixedCase and CamelCase for functions and variables, instead of snake_case, which is also used, but more rarely for functions. I don't think these are mistakes because this is even the case in the Wiki example (below).

Code: Select all

class MyWorkbench (Workbench):

MenuText = "My Workbench"
    ToolTip = "A description of my workbench"
    Icon = """paste here the contents of a 16x16 xpm icon"""

def Initialize(self):

[...]

Gui.addWorkbench(MyWorkbench())
From the information* at my disposal, I notice: ✅ MyWorkbench is a class; ✅ Workbench is a class; ❓ MenuText, ToolTip and Icon instead of menu_text, tool_tip and icon (variables); ❓ Initalize instead of initialize (function); ❓ addWorkbench instead of add_workbench (function).

*Extract from PEP8 :
"Function names should be lowercase, with words separated by underscores as necessary to improve readability.

Variable names follow the same convention as function names.

mixedCase is allowed only in contexts where that’s already the prevailing style (e.g. threading.py), to retain backwards compatibility."
*Extract from Draft "naming policy" :
• Follow PEP 8.
• snake_case_names.py for modules.
• variable_names_without_capitals for variables.
• CamelCaseClass for classes.
• CONSTANTS_USE_CAPITALS for constants.
• functions_without_capitals() for functions and class methods.