how to capture the design process ?

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
imanipourmeysam

how to capture the design process ?

Post by imanipourmeysam »

import helpme
#include <helpme> :D
Process capturing by using macro!!!
Dear team of FreeCAD.
I am a student in mechanical engineering and I want to ask you for some ideas about a task I have to do with FreeCAD and python.
The task is to find the process of conception that someone did. For example if a designer doing a design I want to see step by step what he did (like sketch1, Pad1, modification1, sketch2, pocket 1 and so on)
for this approach, I started recording the macro while doing a simple design and working on the macro code(python).
What I have in my mind as a solution is to do "save as" with a command between each step of the design process and then finally I will have many files, each one represents a step/steps.like the below shape.

First save as → step 1
Second save as → step 1 + step 2
Third save as → step 1 + step 2 + step 3

But it's not so clear where to put the save as commands in the recorded macro file and generate a lot of saved as files of steps and for solution I have this for now : (IF YOU HAVE OTHER IDEAS FOR THIS PLEASE TELL ME)
my solution :
I was thinking if somehow I could print the time of a done step (calling a function) at the beginning of each line of the macro file, then we can say the lines with the same time should be for the same step and I can put my save as command before time changing.

The second solution :
Maybe it's better to do a text processing of the macro file (python code) and put the save as command after each comment, like below