[REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by Kunda1 »

Re-opening this issue since there is a report that it still persists on macOS
issue #7532

CC testers: @ipatch @chrisb
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Ognian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 11:12 am

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by Ognian »

I'm the one who reported the issue on the github tracker. I'm now also in this forum and get notifications on this thread...
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by openBrain »

Ognian wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 11:18 am I'm the one who reported the issue on the github tracker. I'm now also in this forum and get notifications on this thread...
Hmmm. Did you create the "General/ComboBoxWheelEventFilter" parameter switch and set it to "True" as explained in https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Fine-tuning#Mouse_related :?:
Then a restart is needed.

EDIT : forgot about that, I read the ticket !
The ticket lack precision. Are we talking about property editor, or something else ? May we have a screencast ?
Ognian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 11:12 am

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by Ognian »

Yes, I did this. Additionally I deleted FreeCad and all settings.
And afterwards reinstalled latest FreeCad without adding any mods. Then only created the key, set to true; restarted and unfortunately scrolling with the mouse changes values in the ComboBoxes ... (to test, go to part WB create Line, and scroll down to Length or Angle ComboBox; scroll changes values... )
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by openBrain »

OK. What I thought. We are not talking about Property Editor.
Ognian wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 1:02 pm (to test, go to part WB create Line, and scroll down to Length or Angle ComboBox; scroll changes values... )
Part WB has no such things. Draft WB ?
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by openBrain »

OK, got it.
So the "ComboBoxWheelEventFilter" switch works correctly on combo and spin boxes.
It doesn't work on Gui::InputField, which is the widget type you can find in Draft/CreateLine or similar.
Ognian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 11:12 am

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by Ognian »

Bildschirmaufnahme (FreeCAD-0.21-30486).gif
Bildschirmaufnahme (FreeCAD-0.21-30486).gif (875.13 KiB) Viewed 656 times
here it is
Ognian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 11:12 am

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by Ognian »

Ok our updates on this crossed; So you are saying that there is no switch to disable this behavior? The screencast I did is with the actual Problem the window part in arch WB; You can see when I want to change the properties and scroll down it changes randomly fields...
This makes the workflow pretty unusable on a mac... Any Idea for a different workflow where this is no problem?
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by openBrain »

Ognian wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 1:21 pm So you are saying that there is no switch to disable this behavior?
That's it
This makes the workflow pretty unusable on a mac...
I don't think it's different on Windows or Linux
Any Idea for a different workflow where this is no problem?
No. But we can improve the code.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [REOPEN] [SOLVED] How to disable input value change with scroll wheel?

Post by openBrain »

Here is a PR : https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/7561

I really can't understand the mess with Qt FocusPolicy that basically does nothing...
Post Reply